5 Tips to Focus & De-stress

I’m recently coming off of a bad bout of “senioritis.” What’s wild is that I literally graduate in two months and it’s becoming all too real. I’m leaving Buffalo (hopefully!) and applying for jobs daily in North Carolina. I’ve even gotten a few callbacks and interviews which is all I could ask for. Focusing is hard to do and I’m going to outline for you my average week so you understand my pain. Hopefully writing this post will help not only you readers, but myself to stay focused.

 

This semester, I go to my internship Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings from 9 a.m. until 1:30 p.m. This internship is with a local non-profit and my duties for it change literally every day because my boss is very “wishy-washy” and not the easiest person to work for. Then usually I have a couple of hours before I have to go to my part time job at Target which depending on the day can be very stressful, especially now during tax season. (I will never understand how people can blow their entire tax returns on things like 60″ televisions, what are you doing?! Go on vacation or something to somewhere warm! Or invest, or save that money, golly!) Then I get home around 11:30 p.m. and either work on homework or binge watch something. (House of Cards, I’m looking at you.) On Tuesdays and Thursdays, I go to class from 9:25 a.m. until 2:55 p.m. and then right back to Target until 11:30 p.m. (I do get days off….sometimes….) My weekends consist of de-stressing and homework for my classes.

In addition to all of my work efforts I also run two organizations on campus, the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) Buffalo State Chapter and the student-run PR Firm, Communications Unlimited Co. This means holding executive board meetings weekly, running events, holding a weekly meeting for 40+ students, organizing firm tours, finding guest speakers, participating in Twitter chats, finding and working on campaigns for local clients, hosting workshops, giving presentations, working on recruitment efforts, and prepping for conferences. I’ve got a great team behind me, but it is a ton of work!

Just so we’re clear, I love how busy I am and I love everything I do, it’s just a little hectic sometimes so I follow these 5 steps in order to keep sane. It might be a little redundant compared to my previous post on time management, but still so important because since writing said post I’ve gotten even busier somehow.

1.) Sleep – I have found that I work a lot better on sleep than without. I need to sleep for at least six hours a night to be my best. I usually don’t have to worry about forcing myself to go to sleep because my exhaustion takes care of that for me! But I do like to be in bed by midnight to wake up between 7 and 8 a.m. And guys, naps are incredible! Take naps if you can. On days when I don’t work naps are amazing!

2.) Don’t forget to eat (Also….Coffee) – When I don’t eat or forget to eat, I am rude. I am actually very cranky and it’s actually funny because now I’m picturing those Snickers commercials. (I’m chuckling) It really doesn’t help with my focusing efforts because I’m thinking about food. Besides that studies have shown that when you’re fed, your brain works better. And then there’s coffee, thank you South America, thank you. Coffee, despite sleep levels can make me so much more productive and ready for the day ahead. Actually, I ate breakfast and drank coffee this morning, which might explain my productivity levels today.

3.) Set aside time to work on any given project – Despite my hectic schedule, I always set aside time to do a specific task, sometimes that’s during other classes, which you shouldn’t do, but in my defense it’s my last semester and the classes are slow.  Also when I have a day off of work, I always, always do something productive whether it’s for my organizations or for school or work! Every minute counts and as I’m growing older I’m learning the harsh reality that there aren’t enough minutes in the day. Feel free to check out my post on time management for more info on this front! 

4.) Go out and have fun! – On the weekends, as long as I don’t work a close right into an open shift I usually go out with friends to local bars or for dinner. I also really like to do “Buffalo” things, like eating Buffalo foods, going for walks in the area, I even recently went ice skating for the first time and went to my first Sabres game. Take advantage of the things and events going on around you. Click here to see my Instagram and the things I like to do, hopefully it serves as inspiration to you.

5.) Do things to relax and calm the mind. – This doesn’t just mean alcohol, although a nice cold beer after a long day/week is always relaxing. In my free time, I like to read, take advantage of Netflix/HBO GO/Amazon Instant Video, and play Pokemon to name a few things. Sometimes the best way to relax is to simply play some of your favorite music on shuffle and just lay there and stay at the ceiling. ALWAYS make time to do things that will help you relax because stress levels do not help your productivity.

I am fighting “senioritis” to the best of my ability and I hope my experiences and steps help you too. What’s wild is that I’m so close to the end that I can taste it but also so close to the beginning that I am terrified. Terrified but excited. It’s bittersweet really.

Catch up with me on Twitter or Instagram

Leave a Reply

